My Profile

Jessica Cappucci, RN, MSN

Contact Details

Ribbons
Student Member
Bronze
Contributor

Bio

My background is in research. I was a research coordinator for 3 years and focused on neuronal circuits and mechanisms underlying perception and cognition. During this time I found my passion for psychiatric nursing and made a career change. As a psychiatric nurse my goal is to deliver compassionate trauma informed care to patients. My practice focuses on creating an environment of trust. Being an APNA BOD Scholar has fueled my passion for psychiatric mental health nursing. It is important for me to continue my education in order to improve my practice, and better serve patients. I am currently a student at the University of Massachusetts Amherst in the Doctor of Nursing Program with a focus in Psychiatric Nursing. 

The community I serve as a psychiatric nurse is inpatient population. My passion is for helping people in a psychiatric crisis through education, empowerment, mindfulness, and medication management. Often times mental illness goes untreated until a psychotic break, suicide attempt or other crisis occurs. I feel being an inpatient psychiatric nurse I have the opportunity to help support patients and their families at such a pivotal time.  Establishing trust, understanding, improving psychiatric outcomes is important for both my practice and the psychiatric field. The basis on my career in psychiatric nursing is to be involved in its advancement and growth. 

My experience in Nursing leadership is that I served as the nursing class president. Here I was responsible for overseeing the student officers, coordinating the class pinning, organizing fundraisers, and managing class wide activities. Our class was able to make the largest class gift donation due to our fundraising efforts.